Urban Tonic

This is a song about drinking too much. The culture I’ve grown up is very encouraging as far as indulgence goes, and rather than seeking help for our ailments many of us choose to medicate with alcohol, no matter how unhealthy we know it is…

Lyrics:

Well, I’ve been walking with my feet wet, trying to get a decent release;

Out to where the trees leave nothing but a peaceful disease.

I’m sick to the back teeth of it,

I never get to read my comics,

All I’ve got’s this urban tonic to drink.

I tried to hang out with the doctor, to see if he could get me my needs;

But it seems that I was robbed there, robbed there of my only beliefs.

I’m sick to the back teeth of it,

I never get to read my comics,

All I’ve got’s this urban tonic to drink.

Oh, I could be wrong, if I wasn’t so right.

This life would be long, if we didn’t walk into the light.

Shouting from the rooftops, pouring

A little one for the road;

And when I know that I’m finally going

I go.

I ran a different situation through a different collection of eyes,

But through a different relating we only get the same sad reply:

We’re sick to the back teeth of it,

We never get to read our comics,

All we’ve got’s this urban tonic to drink.

 

Written by Thompson Crowley

For a monthly newsletter of songs, poems, travel articles, etc. subscribe to my mailing list HERE

And follow my musician page on facebook HERE

Leave a Reply

